25 - 26 October 2017

In Africa. For Africa. By Africa.

Enhancing aviation sustainability of the African market within the global space


Time Activity
09h00 – 10h00

MC: Refilwe Ledwaba

10h00 – 10h20 Welcome: Aeronautical Society of SA President, Dr Glen Snedden and Opening by ATNS CEO  
10h20 – 11h45 Presentation: Barry Kashambo: 'ICAO as a catalyst for the implementation of a common Upper Airspace in the African region.'
Presentation: NLR – CEO – Michel Peters: ‘Trends in Civil Aviation: Industry and Air Traffic Management.’
11h45 – 12h05 Tea break
12h05 – 12h30 Presentations on own Black Industrialisation Innovation Programmes 2 (4 X concurrently - ASSAF, DTI-IPD, TIA and CSIR)
12h30 – 12h55 Presentations and Panel Discussion – Moderated by Mr Thabani Myeza

"ICAO's 'No Country Left Behind' campaign: Effective implementation of Safety, Security, Infrastructure Development, Technology Innovation and Environmental Sustainability. What can be done to harmonise the effectiveness of this objective by the States and/or ANSPs".

: Mr Chaves, Zimbabwe: Mr Chirongoma, Swaziland: Mr Simelane, Ghana: Mr Apeagyei, Nigeria: Mr Ogochukwu
13h00 – 14h00 Lunch
14h00 – 14h25 Presentations 2
(4x concurrently - ASSAf, DTI-BIP, TIA and CSIR)
14h25 – 14h55

Panel discussion - Moderated by Mr Jeoffrey Matshoba

Topic: The SADC Upper Airspace Management Centre project was initiated by SADC Member States to develop a fully integrated air traffic management system that will serve all the SADC Member States. The primary objective of the UACC is the seamless regional harmonisation of air traffic in the upper airspace (FL245 and above) in the interest of aviation safety.


  • NASA – Mr Akbar Sultan – Deputy Director Aerospace Operations & Safety Program
  • DCA Lesotho: Ntsontso Joseph Molefi
  • ATNS SM: Engineering Planning Nokuthula Phakathi
  • CANSO: Ms Boni Dibate
  • IATA: Protus Seda
14h55 – 15h25 Debate – ATNS Executive: Dumisani Sangweni and Airline Association CEO, Chris Zweigenthal

Topic: "ATNS Permission Planning process – a catalyst for aviation infrastructure development and a mainstay for airline business growth."

Moderator: Mr Patrick Ndlovu

15h25 – 15h30 Closing
*Programme is subject to change
Time Activity
08h30 – 09h15 Registration
MC: Mapaseka Mokwele
09h15 – 10h00 Keynote speaker: Nthato Moagi
10h00 – 11h00

Presentations and Panel Discussion (ASSAF, DTI-BIP, TIA, CSIR).

Topic: "Science, Technology and Innovation in the Aviation Environment. Moving Black Industrialisation Forward."
The process of identifying and acquiring local manufacturers that can produce according to industry standards requires buy-in and support from all aviation stakeholders. The current lack of local suppliers can be resolved when the current challenges are faced together and following a clearly defined development plan.


  • Dr Siya Bulani – ASSAf
  • Mr Vananda – DTI BIP
  • Mr Zimba – CSIR
  • Mr Johnson – TIA
Moderator: Dr Sandile Malinga
11h00 – 11h20 Tea break
11h20 – 12h20

Debate (Economist and Environmentalist)

Topic: "Despite the unfathomable pollution caused by aircraft, there is a profound socioeconomic benefit".
The aviation industry is adamant in addressing environmental impact and improve the integrity of the environment through numerous programmes including a commitment driven through ICAO to lead states to implement state plans. Developing states still experience challenges with regards to financial investment to address environmental impacts whiles there is still a need to invest in socio – economic programmes i.e. electricity, education and employment avenues.

  • Mr Siya Biniza, Economist – DBSA
  • Mr Ian Cruickshank, Environmentalist – SAA
Moderator: Mr Tsepo Peege
12h20 – 12h30

Closing Remarks (Dr Sandile Malinga)

12h30 – 12h45 Launch of the Desert Wolf Military Drone and group photography
12h45 – 14h00 Lunch
*Programme is subject to change